ACTIVITIES>Giordano Dell'Amore Award>International Award

International Award

The winner is...

The 2015 winner of the "Giordano Dell'Amore Microfinance Best Practices International Award" was announced during the International Conference "Improving Financial Inclusion of Smallholder Farmers", organized in Milan on Octber 15th and 16th:

Cantilan Bank Inc., from the Philippines

The experiences of the finalists

The experience of the three 2015 finalists, Advans Côte d'Ivoire, Cantilan Bank and Palestine for Credit and Development - FATEN, are collected in the volume "Improving FInancial Inclusion of Smallholder Farmers". Learn more on smallholders' financial inclusion through the initiatives implemented by these three insitutions in Côte d'Ivoire, the Philippines and Palestine, and submitted for the International Award 2015. Data, relevant information on the institutions and on their social and environmental performance, allow us to discover good transferable and innovative practices in the sector.


The finalists 2015

We are pleased to announce that the Selection Committee chose the three finalists of the International Award. These insitutions will participate to the last selection phase and an Award Committee will select the winner during the international conference, which will be held in Milan on October 15th and 16th. The winner will receive a €50,000 prize to be reinvested for the development and implementation of new projects or the expansion of existing ones.

The 2015 finalists are:

Advans CI
Côte d'Ivoire

Cantilan Bank Inc.

Palestine for Credit and Development-FATEN

Title of the initiative:
“Agricultural input loans
customized for cocoa smallholder farmers”

Title of the initiative:
“Pag-uma and Value Chain Financing”

Title of the initiative:
“Permaculture for Sustainable
Living to Small Farmers”

Received 35 applications!

35 institutions active in the financial inclusion of smallholder farmers in 28 countries have proposed their candidacy for the "Giordano Dell'Amore Microfinance Best Practices International Award", organized by the Fondazione Giordano Dell'Amore.

Here below the list of the institutions whose applications was received. IMPORTANT: the list refers to all applications received by the Award Secretariat before the deadline and to whom it was send a confirmation of receipt in accordance with the Article 2 of the Terms and Conditions. If for technical problems your institution sent the application before the deadline without receiving a confirmation of receipt and hence doesn’t enter in the list, please contact the Award Secretariat at




Association de Lutte pour la promotion des Initiatives de Développement (ALIDé)


Fundación Sartawi

IDEPRO-Desarollo Empresarial IFD

Burkina Faso

Faitière des Caisses Populaires du Burkina

Première Agence de Microfinance-PAMF


AMK Microfinance Institution Plc.



Corporación Nariño empresa y Futuro (CONTACTAR)

Fundacion delamujer

Côte d’Ivoire Advans Côte d’Ivoire

Dominican Republic

Banco de Ahorro y Crédito ADOPEM S.A.


Cooperativa de Ahorro y Credito Jardin Azuayo

El Salvador

SAC Integral S.A.


Buusaa Gonofaa Microfinance SC


Fundación de Asesoría Financiera a Instituciones de Desarrollo y Servicio Social (FAFIDESS)


Belstar Investment and Finance Private ltd

Muthoot Fincorp Ltd

Ujjivan Financial Services


Juhudi Kilimo



Microcredit Company OXUS Kyrgyzstan


Microcred Banque


Organic Mongolia National Movement



Multiple Africa countries

Opportunity International


Tameer Micro Finance Bank Ltd


Palestine for Credit and Development-FATEN


Fundacion Paraguaya de Cooperacion y Desarrollo


Alalay Sa Kaunlaran Inc. (ASKI)

Cantilan Bank Inc

Tulay sa Pag-unlad, Inc. (TSPI)


Kilimanjaro Cooperative Bank Ltd- KCBL


Pride Microfinance Ltd




Tinh Thuong Microfinance Institution (TYM)

2015 edition is Now Open!

By Fondazione Giordano Dell'Amore

Version en français


Versión en español

The Giordano Dell’Amore Microfinance Best Practices International Award, promoted by Fondazione Giordano Dell’Amore, aims to increase the awareness about the importance of microfinance as a tool to fight poverty and social exclusion; to encourage the exchange of experiences and sharing of thoughts and in-depth analyses within microfinance community; and to highlight and spread microfinance best practices.

The International Award is opened to any institution or organization involved, for at least 12 months prior to the date of application, in the financial inclusion of people in a developing or transition country(1).

The Giordano Dell’Amore Microfinance Best Practices International Award 2015 will focus on the following topic: “Improving financial inclusion of smallholder farmers”.

Applicants are required to complete the Application Form (First, Second and Third Section) in one of the accepted languages (English, Spanish and French) and send it in digital format by email to by April 19th, 2015 at 12.00 am (midnight), local Rome time (CEST/UTC+2). The date and time considered will be those of receipt by the Award Secretariat that will send a confirmation of receipt.

The Selection Committee will select the three best experiences that will be included in a Short-List and published on Fondazione Giordano Dell’Amore website ( by May 31st, 2015. The three finalist candidates will be profiled in a publication and one representative from Senior Management will be invited to attend an International Conference scheduled on October 15th, 2015, in Milan.

The winner will be chosen by the Award Committee and announced during the International Conference. The Award winner will receive EUR 50,000. The funds awarded must be reinvested for the development and implementation of new projects or the expansion of existing ones.

For further information:


1. For the purpose of this competition any country is considered as “developing or transition country” excluding the following ones: European Union Members (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom); European Union Candidates and Potential Candidates (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey); EFTA countries (Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland); Other non-European Countries (Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, United States of America).

Past editions Giordano Dell'Amore Microfinance Best Practices International Award

2011 Angkor Mikroheranhvatho Kampuchea Co. Ltd-AMK, Cambodia download publication
2009 Fundacion Pro Vivienda Social, Argentina download publication

For further information regarding the past editions (announcements, Terms and Conditions, conferences) click here.

next page >